J.R.R. Tolkien Tells Off the Nazis

“Thank you for your letter. I regret that I am not clear as to what you intend by “arisch.” I am not of Aryan extraction: that is Indo-Iranian; as far as I am aware none of my ancestors spoke Hindustani, Persian, Gypsy, or any related dialects. But if I am to understand that you are enquiring whether I am of Jewish origin, I can only reply that I regret that I appear to have no ancestors of that gifted people. (…) “

It’s been ages since the “Tolkiendil” I am, felt that being like one of them could be anything that would make me feel good in some way.
Blame it on politics… and on my own experiences with most jews I met, who turned their backs at me whenever I criticized Israel’s policy, while I have argued with many Palestinians and Lebanese openly against Hamas and Hizbullah, but they still count on my friendlist.
A fact that makes you think more than twice.
When you are a child, you learn soon that someone who avoids discussion by simply “unfriending you” is someone who had no reason on his side, and just found that way to protect his/her position.  Just being stubborn and forcing his point to be accepted. 
When you are a child, if that friend matters to you, you can swallow it like a pill and go ahead with friendship… but some day you grow… and you notice that at that age, you can not swallow a stone like if it was a pill.
That day you decide to tell him… and he unfriends you and gives you his back. But you have learnt that it’s not worthy anymore. He must learn his lesson and fight for getting u back.
And if he doesn’t, you cn be happy to know that he really was never your friend. 
I wish Israelis, or at least almost every jew I met, noticed how much they have changed our point of view in the last …. 25 years?
I grew up feeling about them as close as Tolkien did in 1937… same as my whole generation.
They were a great people that deserved our respect. Mostly for the way they had struggled to survive under “our” rule for centuries of abuse, gettoes, pogroms, ethnical and religious discrimination. 
They should ask themselves what they have made wrong, to change my mind to the way it is now.
Really, they should… but I know they won’t.

Leave a comment